The “Community Currencies in Action” project was a collaboration between English, French, Dutch and Belgian partner organizations between 2012 and 2015.

Goals of CCIA

The main aim was to promote different types of complementary currency and to bring together and expand the collective knowledge of participants, while making it accessible to others. One of its distinctive features was integration of the public sector, both as promoter of complementary currencies and as target group for project publications and events. The CCIA project was 50% supported by the European Union’s regional development fund Interreg IVb for North-west Europe.

Pilot currencies

The following six complementary currencies were either partly extended or begun by CCIA:

  1. The Makkie in Amsterdam, a time currency project for the promotion of citizen participation in the Amsterdam-East neighborhood. From the beginning, the city government participated in the project as one of four lead organizations.
  2. The “E-Portmonnee” in Limburg province, Belgium, a reward and incentive scheme for the reduction of household waste and extension of composting and recycling. The local public waste service Limburg.net runs the currency for selected communities. Local administrations are responsible for issuing the currency to participating households and also offer goods and services for purchase with the earned points. These range from energy-saving bulbs and garden accessories to shopping vouchers, theater and museum tickets, to bus and train tickets. Thus the environment wins twice.
  3. “TradeQoin” is a business barter currency started during the CCIA project by the organization Qoin in the Amsterdam region.

  4. The social enterprise “Spice” led three more time-currency projects in South Wales. These time currencies are connected to a national UK network of redemption points but are issued by local organizations, partly with the support of public funds.
  5. The “Brixton Pound” is a local currency in South London, which has existed since 2009. It is supported by the London Borough of Lambeth as a CCIA Partner and is further connected to publicly funded programs.

  6. The regional currency “SoNantes” was introduced to the French city Nantes in April 2015. It promotes regional businesses and is based on the principle of ‘mutual credit’ between businesses. Citizens of Nantes may also purchase SoNantes with Euros and spend them at participating businesses or use them in future to benefit from special offers from the city, including bus and train tickets. The project was initiated by the city authority. The public bank Credit Municipal de Nantes was tasked with implementation.

Apart from the six partners who led a pilot currency project, two additional organizations took part in CCIA: the Wales Council for Voluntary Action in Cardiff as the official management partner with respect to the EU institutions and the New Economics Foundation in London, which was responsible for academic supervision of the project and acted as central contact point and publications manager. Leander Bindewald managed the project and was its spokesman and principal researcher. Alongside the numerous publications in various languages by NEF and other CCIA partners, it is above all the many contacts with politicians and public institutions that will demonstrate its long-term effects. Over a three year period, the project set new standards for explaining and demonstrating the possibilities of complementary currencies to a range of audiences, from local politicians to universities, central banks and UN institutions.

Publications

The most important publications of the CCIA project are:

  • A handbook for the implementation of complementary currencies: People Powered Money. The text of this book is also available in German, French and Dutch
  • The multi-lingual information platform on complementary currencies
    www.Community-Currency.info
  • A briefing paper for the public sector: Community Currencies – Opportunities and Challenges for local government
  • The study of effectiveness: Money with a Purpose – Community Currencies achieving social, environmental and economic impact
  • The methodological Evaluation Handbook No Small Change- how to evaluate your community currency with accompanying work materials
  • Investigation of the legal situation of complementary currencies in various European countries.

All publications can be downloaded here www.CCIA.eu

Das “Community Currencies in Action” Projekt war eine Kollaboration von englischen, französischen, holländischen und belgischen Partnerorganisationen im Nordwesten Europas im Zeitraum von 2012 bis Juni 2015.

Ziele von CCIA

Ziel war es komplementäre Währungen verschiedener Art zu fördern und das gemeinsame Wissen der Beteiligten zusammenzutragen, zu erweitern und für Andere zugänglich zu machen. Dabei lag ein besonderes Augenmerk auf der Einbindung des öffentlichen Sektors, sowohl als Betreiber von Komplementärwährungen als auch als Zielgruppe der Publikationen und Veranstaltungen des Projektes. Das CCIA Projekt wurde durch den Regionalentwicklungsfond der Europäischen Union im Rahmen das Interreg IVb Programms für Nordwest-Europa mit einer 50% Finanzierung gefördert.

Pilotwährungen

Die folgenden sechs Komplementärwährungen wurden durch CCIA teilweise erweitert oder während der Projektlaufzeit ins Leben gerufen:

  1. Der „Makkie“ in Amsterdam, ein Zeitwährungsprojekt für die Förderung der Bürgerbeteiligung im Ortsteil Amsterdam-Ost. Die Stadtverwaltung war in diesem Programm von Anfang an als eine von vier Betreiberorganisationen für die Umsetzung beteiligt.
  2. Das „E-Portmonnee“ in der Provinz Limburg in Belgien, ein Belohungs- und Anreizsystem zur Reduzierung von Haushaltsabfällen und Ausweitung von Kompostierung und Recycling Programmen. Der öffentliche Abfallentsorger Limburg.net betreibt diese Währung für die einzelnen Gemeinden in der Region. Die einzelnen Gemeindeverwaltungen sind für die Ausgabe der Währung an die teilnehmenden Haushalte verantwortlich und bieten Artikel und Dienstleistungen zum Kauf für die verdienten Punkte an. Diese rangieren von Sparlampen und Gartenartikeln bis zu Einkaufsgutscheinen, Theater- und Museumskarten bis hin zu Tickets für den öffentlichen Nahverkehr. Die Umwelt gewinnt also doppelt.
  3. TradeQoin“ ist eine gewerbliche Barter-Währungen die während des CCIA Projektes von der Agentur Qoin in der Region Amsterdam gestartet wurde.
  4. Drei weitere Zeitwährungsprojekte in Süd-Wales werden von der gemeinnützigen Organisation Spice betrieben. Diese Zeitwährungen sind in ein Netzwerk von Einlösestellen in ganz Großbritannien eingebunden, aber werden durch lokale Organisationen, teilweise mit öffentlicher Förderung herausgegeben.
  5. Das „Brixton-Pound“ ist eine lokale Währung im Süden von London, die seit 2009 besteht, und die durch die Stadtverwaltung des London Boroughs of Lambeth als CCIA Partner unterstützt wurde und weiter in die Programme der öffentlichen Hand eingebunden ist.
  6. Die Regionalwährung „SoNantes“ ist seit April 2015 zur Förderung des regionalen Mittelstandes im Umlauf und basiert auf dem Prinzip des gegenseitigen Kredits von Unternehmen. Es ist für Bürger in Nantes aber auch möglich für Euros SoNantes zu erwerben und bei teilnehmenden Unternehmen und für Angebote der Stadt, in Zukunft auch für Tickets des öffentlichen Nahverkehrs, auszugeben. Das Projekt wurde durch die Stadtverwaltung initiiert. Mit der Umsetzung wurde die öffentliche Kreditanstalt Credit Municipal de Nantes beauftragt.

Außer den sechs Partnern, die eine dieser Pilot-Währungen betreiben, waren zwei weitere Organisationen an CCIA beteiligt: das Welsh Council for Voluntary Action aus Cardiff als Managementpartner des Projektes gegenüber den EU Institutionen und die New Economics Foundation in London, in der wissenschaftlichen Betreuung des Projektes und als zentraler Ansprech- und Publikationspartner. Hier war ich über die gesamte Dauer von CCIA als Projektmanager und – sprecher und Wissenschaftler angestellt. Neben den zahlreichen Veröffentlichungen die NEF und andere CCIA-Partner in verschiedenen Sprachen herausbrachten, sind es vor allem die vielen Kontakte mit Politikern und Institutionen des öffentlichen Sektors, die langfristig die Wirksamkeit von CCIA ausmachen. Von Lokalpolitikern bis zu Universitäten, Zentralbanken und sogar UN Institutionen haben wir drei Jahre lang neue Standards in der Erläuterung und der Demonstration von Möglichkeiten komplementärer Währung gesetzt.

Veröffentlichungen

Die wichtigsten Veröffentlichungen des CCIA Projektes sind: – ein Handbuch für die Umsetzung von Komplementärwährungen: Peopel Powered Money. Der Text dieses Buches liegt auch in deutscher, französischer und niederländischer Sprache vor.

  • die mehrsprachige Informationsplattform zu Komplementärwährungen www.Community-Currency.info
  • das Übersichtspapier für den Öffentlichen Sektor: Community Currencies – Opportunities and Challenges for local government
  • die Wirksamkeitsstudie: Money with a Purpose – Community Currencies achieving social, environmental and economic impact
  • das methodische Evaluierungs-Handbuch No Small Change- how to evaluate your community currency, mit begleitenden Arbeitsmaterialien
  • die Untersuchungen zur rechtlichen Situation von Komplementärwährungen in verschiedenen europäischen Ländern

Alle Veröffentlichungen des Projektes sind auf der Webseite www.CCIA.eu herunterladbar.